The works and actions of James Plotkin

Welcome to Plotkinworks

Plotkin Announces Joy of Disease Archival Recording Vinyl Release

I’m pleased to announce that a dual-format physical release for the ‘Joy of Disease’ archival recordings is currently being pressed and released by B.F.E. Records from Valencia, Spain.

The release consists of a single LP of the demos, and includes a CD of the remixes. Artwork and design from my good friend David Bellard.

The release is set to ship in February and is strictly limited to 300 copies worldwide.

Many thanks for the unexpected support I’ve received for these archival releases – it is greatly appreciated!

Vinyl pre-order is up now on the B. F. E. Bandcamp.


Glice Release ‘Cielo’ LP

Cielo album cover by Glice‘Cielo,’ the new album from Dutch noise duo Glice (Ruben Braeken and Melle Kromhout) is now available for purchase. The album was mixed and engineered by Alexander Hacke (Einstürzende Neubauten) and was mastered by James Plotkin.

While vaguely falling into the “noise” category of sound and music, Glice’s work contains a depth that is rarely achieved in such an overcrowded, ambiguous genre. There exists an intangible quality, reminiscent of yesteryear cult favorites such as Organum, The New Blockaders, SPK, etc. Absolutely worth investigation if these are familiar names.

The album is available to stream or download via Bandcamp.

Preview the album below.

KOLLAPS ‘Sibling Lovers’ Album Release

Australian industrial band KOLLAPS will release their new album ‘Sibling Lovers’ on Trait Records and Silken Tofu on Sept. 29. You can pre-order the new album now and stream the track “Suck,” below. The album was mastered for vinyl and digital formats by James Plotkin.

Per Trait:

Following 2015’s debut EP release Heartworm, Melbourne industrialists Kollaps have refined their restless brand of harsh DIY post-industrial noise…Conceptually, Sibling Lovers follows Heartworm as an exploration of individual sickness as a manifestation of a diseased modern society.

James Plotkin featured in ‘121 Mastering Tips from the Experts’

James Plotkin promo shot

James Plotkin

James Plotkin recently was featured in the article ‘121 Mastering Tips from the Experts.’, a resource for emerging DIY recording, mixing, mastering, and engineering professionals featured advice from Plotkin in the “Favorite Mastering Chains” and “Sage Advice” sections of the article.

A preview of Plotkin’s ‘Sage Advice’:

Remember that everyone hears things differently, and that your role is to help your client hear their recording the way they envision it.

Read the full article at

‘Master of None’ Receives Emmy Nods; Get the Soundtrack from Mondo

Master of None - Season 2 album coverAziz Ansari’s acclaimed comedy series “Master of None” received two Emmy nominations for its second season. The soundtrack is available from Mondo in partnership with Lakeshore Records and was mastered for vinyl by James Plotkin.

Ansari received am Emmy nod for Outstanding Lead Actor – Comedy and the Netflix series received a nomination for Outstanding Comedy Series. Nominees were announced Thursday. July 13. Winners will be announced September 17 at the 69th Primetime Emmy Awards.

The soundtrack, a double LP, is available on blue or black vinyl with art and design by Jay Shaw. From Mondo:

Aziz Ansari’s Netflix Original Series Master Of None has been critically acclaimed for various reasons, including its incredible use of music. The music of season one (which Pitchfork called “prolific and distinctive”) set the tone of Aziz’s character Dev, and his initial misadventures in New York. But season two’s narrative launch in Italy takes the soundtrack into equally distinct, if not more diverse musical directions.

Order “Master of None – Season 2” via the Mondo website.