The works and actions of James Plotkin

Welcome to Plotkinworks

James Plotkin Releases Inevitable Archives: Vol. 2 – Orphaned Compositions

On June 9, James Plotkin released Inevitable Archives: Vol. 2 — Orphaned Compositions. The release is available digitally via Bandcamp.

The second in a series of previously unreleased recordings, Vol.2 – Orphaned Compositions compiles a wide array of styles and beat-driven tracks — broken drum machines, mangled guitar loops, fretless bass and the occasional vocal appearance presents a side of Plotkin’s music that is rarely heard or even known to exist.

The majority of recordings in this collection were recorded to analog 8-track cassette and mixed to DAT. The release features original artwork by David Bellard.

Stream the album below and head to Plotkin’s Bandcamp page to purchase. As always, given the current state of intellectual property rights abuse, it’s much appreciated if these recordings are not uploaded to YouTube or shared via questionable file sharing networks.

New James Plotkin Release: Inevitable Archives Vol. 1 – Lost Guitar Compositions

On May 26, 2017, James Plotkin released “Inevitable Archives Vol. 1 – Lost Guitar Compositions,” the first in a series of archival albums.

Available via Bandcamp, the album consists of ten tracks comprising approximately 80 minutes of unreleased music. The songs, unearthed from a massive archive of DAT tapes recently retrieved from storage and largely forgotten about, were recorded between 1991 and 1998 and evoke the stylistic elements of Plotkin’s debut solo album, “A Strange, Perplexing.”

“Inevitable Archives Vol. 1 – Lost Guitar Compositions” features original artwork by David Bellard and is available now for streaming and download at James Plotkin’s Bandcamp page. Back catalog merchandise is now available to order via Bandcamp with more to be added periodically.

James Plotkin Announces Release of ‘Inevitable Archives: 1991-1998’

From James:

I’ve completed transferring over 100 hours of unreleased recordings from my DAT archives – I will be periodically releasing these archives on Bandcamp for download by any interested parties. They mainly consist of home recordings from 1991-1998 across various styles/genres, as well the odd tracks/demos from past projects (Joy of Disease, Flux, Phantomsmasher, etc).

Here’s a sampler of some of the material I’ve unearthed. These 4 tracks will be part of 2 separate archival releases. One will be an extended release of guitar-based recordings, the other of more rhythmic compositions. I would suggest waiting for the full releases if you plan on purchasing a download.

There is a possibility of a few short vinyl runs if the interest exists.

Visit James Plotkin’s Bandcamp site to listen to and download the tracks. Updates on additional releases and back catalog vinyl and CD sales will be posted on this site.

Mondo to Release ‘The Fifth Element’ Soundtrack on Vinyl

The Fifth Element LP cover artMondo will release the soundtrack to Luc Besson’s ‘The Fifth Element’ on vinyl for the first time on May 17 to commemorate the film’s twentieth anniversary. The album was mastered by James Plotkin.

The score, by Éric Serra, was remastered and will be released on an orange-striped vinyl as well as a limited edition (500 copy) “Super Green” version.

Mondo Record Label Manager Mo Shafeek described the release to The A.V. Club as “essential science fiction cinema.”

“Not only is the soundtrack responsible for a wildly vast tonal spectrum – you’d be hard pressed to name another film that bounces from comedic montage to straight-faced opera to action-adventure in the span of 15 minutes–but he makes it feel and sound effortless. It is a truly unique listening experience.”

The release will be be available to purchase on the Mondo website on Wednesday, May 17.


Flowers Must Die ‘Kompost’ Available Now on Rocket Recordings

‘Kompost,’ the new album from Swedish psychedelic rockers Flowers Must Die was released April 28, 2017 on Rocket Recordings. The album was mastered for CD, digital, and vinyl by James Plotkin.

Soundblab describes the album as “a road trip of psychotropic experience with an invasive sense of humour.”

Limited edition yellow vinyl versions of ‘Kompost’ are available via the Flowers Must Die Bandcamp page.

View the video for “Hit”, below.